Vets hit the fairway

Capricorn Veterans Golf president Mike Vidler flanked by ladies' Vets Championship winner Gayle Mooney and men's Vets Championship winner Trevor Johns. 219507

By Liam Emerton

On Wednesday, 21 October the Capricorn Vets Open was held at the North Rockhampton Golf Club.

Male and female vets competed at the event, with Rockhampton’s Trevor Johns taking out the men’s title with a total of 73 and Capricornia’s Gayle Mooney picking up the winner’s trophy for the ladies.

The oldest player on the course on Wednesday was Ken Gillespie at 92-years-old, who had another great round.

President of the Capricorn Vets Golf, Mike Vidler, said the day was great even though it was different to previous years.

“We had 110 starters, with players from the all the local clubs, which was pretty good,” he said.

“It was a bit disjointed this year, (we) usually get a few more than that.

“Our carnival usually ties in with a run of carnivals all down the coast.

“But that couldn’t happen this year – hopefully next year it all goes back to normal.

“I’d just like to thank Frenchville Sports Club for the continued support and sponsorship of the Vets Golf – they’ve been fantastic to us.”

This Friday the Central Queensland District Veteran Golfers Association will be hosting its 4-Ball best ball Open Championship at North Rockhampton Golf Club.

The results for the event are as follows

Open Winner: Trevor Johns (Rockhampton) 73.

Nett Winner: John Berry (Capricornia) 66.

Division 1 Gross runner-up: Glen Watt (Rockhampton) 78.

Division 1 Nett winner: Dennis Manion (Yeppoon) 70.

Division 1 Nett runner-up: Mike Vidler (Capricornia) 71.

Division 2 Gross winner: Tony Taylor (Capricornia) 85.

Division 2 Nett winner: Peter Bugler (Capricornia) 69.

Division 2 Nett runner-up: Cliff Walker (Capricornia) 71.

Division 3 Stableford winner: Spencer Bellis (Capricornia) 39 C/B.

Division 3 Stableford runner-up: Glen Chopping (Rockhampton) 39.

Division 3 Stableford 2nd runner-up: Paul Urquhart (Capricornia) 38.


Open Winner: Gayle Mooney (Capricornia) 87.

Nett Winner: Joy Willey (Emu Park) 71.

Division 1 Gross runner-up: Gayle Jackson (Capricornia) 94.

Division 1 Nett winner: Jean Breakspere (Yeppoon) 77.

Division 1 Nett runner-up: Colleen Hill (Capricornia) 78.

Division 2 Stableford winner: Jo-ann Knight (Capricornia) 37.

Division 2 Stableford runner-up: Peen Hua Bugler (Capricornia) 35.

Division 2 Stableford 2nd runner-up: Leonie Green (Capricornia) 32.



Hole 14 (H/Cap 0-15) (First Shot): John Berry (Capricornia) 6.15 metres.

2 (H/Cap 16-20) (First Shot): Cliff Walker (Capricornia) 108 centimetres.

6 (H/Cap 21-36) (First Shot): Ted Kay (Capricornia) 3.30m.

17 All Divisions (First Shot): David Williamson (Bargara) 6.48m.

7 All Divisions (Second Shot): Cliff Walker (Capricornia) 2.70m.

Captains Shot: Hole 15 (First Shot) – Mike Vidler (Capricornia) 1.78m.


Hole 15 (H/Cap 0-22 (First Shot): Jean Breakspere (Yeppoon) 9.45m.

1 (H/Cap 23-45) (Second Shot): Leonie Green (Capricornia) 2.70m.

7 All Divisions (Second Shot): June Bulger (Yeppoon) 3.37m.

17 All Divisions (Second Shot): Helen Wastell (Rockhampton) 1.64m.

Captains Shot: Hole 6 (First Shot) – Deborah Carige (Capricornia) 3.44m.