Fascinating past of Shell Club building

This photo of the Keppel Bay Shell Club in 1977 is from the Capricorn Coast Historical Society collection.

Last weekend, the Keppel Bay Shell Club had a shell display at the Yeppoon Showgrounds.

This 1977 photo of their former clubhouse shows a building that has had an interesting past.

It was originally built near St Christopher’s Chapel at Nerimbera as a recreation hall in the early 1940s for the US troops who were training in our region during World War II.

In 1946 it was sold as army surplus to Yeppoon Boy Scouts Group for the sum of $192. The hall was officially opened as the Noel Collins Memorial Scout Hall by the then Deputy Prime Minister, Mr Francis Forde.

After having been used for many years by local Scouts, Cubs and Brownies it was sold by the Yeppoon Scout Group to the Keppel Bay Shell Club to use as their Shell Museum. In 2002, due to a land sale, the building was up for removal or demolition.

So where is it now? Safe for all to view at the Rockhampton Heritage Village! After a grant for relocation and nearly two years of restoration by volunteers and staff, the building now houses the Myrtle Perkins collection – the Doll House.