Great Rocky opens

Rennie Ritchie knocks one out of the bunker. 236369 Pictures: Liam Emerton

By Liam Emerton

The Rockhampton Golf Club Open was held for men and women between Friday and Sunday with two winners coming out on top.

The men’s winner was former Biloela resident and current Yeppoon Golf Club member Dylan Parish, and the women’s open champion was North Rockhampton’s Sarah Lacey.

In the Rockhampton Men’s Open the club changed its grades slightly this year and had an A grade/ A1 grade, B and C grade.

Rocky divided the A grade in half due to the large number of A grade players and made an A and A1 grade.

It was a very close affair this year with the winner Parish (Yeppoon golf club) shooting a score of 146 to finish a stroke in front of Rockhampton Golf Club’s Tim McMaster (147) with Greg Black (148) finishing in third.

A1 grade was won by Cameron Dougall with 162 with Sam Atwell coming in second with 165.

B grade saw Bruce Winn do exactly that, win, with a score of 166 with Andrew Smith finishing behind with 175.

The C grade winner was John ‘Bogga’ Waller with 189 followed by Mark McKay who finished on 193.

In the Ladies’ open it was Lacey, with a score of 74, who finished in front of Angela Spidy Brown and Brenda Phillips who both ended with a score of 78 and were separated on a countback.

The B Grade competition was won by Elaine Steward from Yeppoon Golf Club with a nett score of 69, followed by Julie Blake (71) and Patricia Beck (73 c/b).

In C Grade Yeppoon’s Colleen Reeve took out the title with a nett score of 74, with Elaine Jones and Elizabeth Moss battling it out for second place on a countback. Both ladies finished on a total of 76 – with Jones came out the victor in that exchange.